Vatican Cameos: A Sherlock Holmes Adventure

vatican-cameos

Vatican Cameos: A Sherlock Holmes Adventure

Written By Richard T. Ryan

Genre: Mystery, Suspense, Fiction

I was pleasantly surprised on how much I enjoyed this book. I have always enjoyed Sherlock Holmes but will be honest have never read one of his stories. I am very happy that I took a chance on this book.

First, I actually got the audible version of this book and I have to say, the Narrator Nigel Peever was AMAZING! I have heard some audible books that I just had to return but Mr. Peever kept me enthralled through the entire story.

Mr. Ryan did an excellent job telling two parallel stories in two different time periods. In the time of 1901 Mr. Holmes was asked by the current Pope to retrieve some cameos that have gone missing, and in 1501 Michelangelo was creating the cameos that Mr. Holmes will try to find 400 years later. I enjoyed the changing of the time periods, I never once had an issue of following along. The Story was very well written and flowed very well together. Mr. Ryan pieced these stories with amazing skill and I would HIGHLY recommend you to check it out.

I will say that there are some graphic scenes in the later chapters (30-32 I believe) But as it pertained to the story, I didn’t feel that they were out of place. Great Job Mr. Ryan! I look forward to reading more books written by him!

Leave a Reply

